What`s new?

The first furniture innovations of the year at imm cologne 2018

imm cologne presents the whole world of interior design – and has surprises in store, and not just on-trend, outdoor versions of classics, but also with new launches of all types of sitting and sleeping furniture: traditional and design-oriented, reduced and cosy are the new directions for the start of the furniture season in January.

At imm cologne 2018, more than 100,000 pieces of furniture and other furnishing items will be exhibited, around a third of which are absolutely new products. The over 1,200 exhibitors from 50 countries expected at the event will not only display the latest colours and forms, but also reflect the trend for long-life materials such as marble and the enduring fascination with design classics. And imm cologne is a part of this history. In 1968, the Panton Chair – a revolutionary piece both in terms of design and manufacture – was presented to the public for the first time at the imm furnishing show in Cologne. Fifty years after the original’s presentation, Vitra is issuing two limited editions of the iconic classic in 2018 – and where else for the premiere but Cologne.

Panton Chrome and Glow: the anniversary editions of Vitra at imm cologne 2018
After many years of joint development work, Verner Panton and Vitra’s Panton Chair – the first cantilever chair manufactured from a single piece of plastic – was finally ready for series production in 1967. The chair, which was a revolutionary piece both in terms of design and manufacture, was first presented to the public at the imm international interiors show in Cologne in 1968. Fifty years after the original’s presentation, Vitra is issuing two limited editions of the iconic classic in 2018: the Panton Chrome and the Panton Glow. Verner Panton had always been fascinated by mirrored surfaces, and over the course of his career he consistently employed a range of mirror effects in his work. This can be seen in his furniture and lighting designs as well as in many of his expressive interiors. With the Panton Chrome, one of the designer’s long-held dreams is now finally realised. Back in the early 1970s the designer explored the possibility of giving the Panton Chair a mirrored surface. Panton believed that the chair’s dynamic, sweeping form was perfect for a reflective finish, but the susceptibility of such a surface to scratches meant that realising this was technically impossible at the time. Now, nearly 50 years later, a safe yet complex process has been developed, one that involves highly specialised manual craftsmanship. The Panton Chrome’s brilliant mirror effect is achieved through a metallisation embedded in several layers of paint. This complex paint system is flexible enough to accommodate the slight plasticity of the Panton Classic chair under loads, while also being robust enough to offer effective protection to the sensitive surface.

Through painstaking handicraft, five layers of paint containing luminescent pigments are applied to the untreated polyester resin shell of the Panton Classic, and this is then sealed with a high-gloss protective coating. The luminous pigments charge in daylight and give off a blue light when it is dark. The spectral appearance of the Panton Glow chair shining in the darkness has something mystical about it, and lets the well-known classic appear – literally – in a new light. (Photo: Vitra, Image 18/19)

01 COR – Moss
A seat? Or a bed? Why not both! A kind of 21st-century divan that offers one thing above all else: a supremely comfortable seat. This is provided by large cushions with a gentle crumpling effect on the outside and an abundance of materials such as down and quilted linings on the inside. Stuttgart design duo Jehs+Laub designed the multifunctional piece for Cor. (Photo: Cor)

02 ADA AUSTRIA premium – Tyler and Portland
The innovative Airogel® cells in the upholstery in the Tyler seating arrangement and the Portland dining room collection by ADA are designed to provide enhanced seating comfort. They fit perfectly to the body’s contours and guarantee highly precise pressure release. (Photo: ADA AUSTRIA premium)

03 Artek – 124° (Design: Daniel Rybakken)
124° – this is the angle between the two side faces of the wall-mounted Artek mirror bearing the same name. Their strong form, the unusual mirror effect and the fragmented light they refract make them a striking wall feature. The mirror is based on extensive research by Norwegian designer Daniel Rybakken on natural light and its representation. (Photo: Zara Pfeifer; Artek)

04 Brdr. Krüger – Theodor
Theodor is a reinterpretation of the “archetypal Danish chair” that played a key role in establishing the importance of Danish Modern and seeks to combine classic values with a new perspective. The chair will be on show at imm cologne in a new oiled oak version with a textile seat by Brdr. Krüger. (Photo: Brdr. Krüger)

05 Bretz – Filousof
Upholstered furniture manufacturer Bretz certainly didn’t choose the name by chance: the Filousof sofa is a little cheeky, perhaps, but it is designed first and foremost to be a freethinker. Each cushion in the back, seat and armrests and the body can be covered with a different covering, a different colour or a different pattern. What’s more, the sofas and modular sofas can be expanded in any arrangement you like in 25 cm increments. (Photo: Bretz)

06 Gwinner – Laredo
A strong focus on wood, distinctive surfaces with knots or cracks, and clear lines – these are the visual characteristics of the Laredo living room collection by Gwinner. The new wood smoked oak timber creates a slightly severe impression and is a perfect match for the linear design. Another new addition to the range: the colour mocca matt silk lacquer is a comparatively dark brown. (Photo: Gwinner)

07 Jan Kath – Polonaise
The order was simple: “Make me the most beautiful carpets in the world!” said Shah Abbas to his carpet makers in the palace workshops in Isfahan. The results were so fascinating that Jan Kath chose them around 400 years later as the model for his new collection, Polonaise: shimmering magical forests of lotus flowers, intricate arabesques and palmettes. (Photo: Jan Kath)

08 Ligne Roset – Imprevue
An individual sofa, corner group or even a bed? The Imprevue sofa collection by designer Marie-Christine Dorner can be arranged in many combinations and opens up a multitude of possibilities for its use. Simply remove the side and back sections from the modular sofa and it is transformed into a bed in no time. (Photo: Ligne Roset)

09 Moll – Champion
Children change their favourite colour often. That’s why every Champion table by Moll contains a box with eight decorative colours for the foot skids and cover caps. The colours can be quickly replaced and stored in the box until the next colour change. (Photo: Moll)

10 Schönbuch – Grace (Sebastian Herkner)
With its minimalist form, Schönbuch’s reinterpretation of the trolley table (design: Sebastian Herkner) can also be used as a mobile bar, a side table or a filing system for the home office. The design draws on 1950s architecture. Grace is available in black, midnight blue and rosewood. The top glass layer is painted on the reverse in a coordinating colour. (Photo: Schönbuch)

11 Schramm – Ono (Design: Sebastian Herkner)
Sebastian Herkner wanted to make reading, working and breakfasting in bed as comfortable as possible. The cosy padded cushions in the Ono bed by Schramm Werkstätten are an invitation to relax. For the very busy designer and frequent traveller, these comfort zones are incredibly important. (Photo: Schramm Werkstätten)

12 Tom Taylor – Heaven Casual
imm cologne visitors at the ADA stand will be greeted by an entire apartment with two bedrooms, a living and dining area, a guest room and home office, and a bathroom – in a coordinated design style called Heaven Casual by the brand Tom Taylor. (Photo: ADA)

13 Indera – Hug
With Hug, Belgian furniture supplier Indera presents a modular sofa with endless combination possibilities. In addition to a variety of back and arm units and seat modules in different dimensions, the series also includes practical tables and storage elements so that you can create your very own relaxation zone. The soft, quilted upholstery resembles a warm bedspread, a homely cocoon where you can relax after an active day. (Photo: Indera)

14 Conte Caserta – Giant table made from a single piece of wood
he tabletop is produced from a single piece of acacia wood and measures 420 x 150 x 8 cm. The giant table is on display for the first time ever at Conte Caserta’s stand (A001 in Hall 11.1) at the imm cologne 2018 international interiors show in Cologne. Conte Caserta manufactures unique, solid-wood tabletops from golden-brown acacia cut from the middle of the tree and processed in one piece. The individual grain extends like a painting over the whole surface. (Photo: Conte Caserta)

15 Draenert – Marble Wings
The height of expressive art furniture: Marble Wings is a chaise longue made from a single solid block of natural Carrara marble, a limited edition of 15 pieces with a dated and numbered certificate. The Draenert company is celebrating its 50-year anniversary at imm cologne 2018. To mark the occasion, architect and designer Hadi Teherani has translated the cultural history of marble into modern design. (Photo: Draenert)

16 Hey-Sign – Stripe & Fields
The new STRIPE 2, 4 and FIELD rugs are new additions to Hey-Sign’s Carée rug range, which was introduced at imm cologne in 2017. In the two-colour STRIPE 2 rug, 40-cm felt strips are interwoven in alternate colours, resulting in an impressive decorative effect. The visible seams are a design feature that highlights the piece’s handcrafted character. (Photo: HEY-SIGN/Reimund Braun)

17 Sideboard K 16 – müller möbelfabrikation
With two doors or three, suspended on the wall or on aluminium runners, or in the painted version: the design and flexibility of the K 16 sideboard has always impressed. However, the latest option combines both elements in one! The impressive metal structure of the sliding doors is guaranteed to attract all the attention and the piece will inevitably become an outstanding highlight. Perfect for spaces full of extravagance! (Photo: müller möbelfabrikation)

What`s new?

Die ersten Neuheiten für das Einrichtungsjahr auf der imm cologne 2018

Die imm cologne bildet die ganze Einrichtungswelt ab – und überrascht nicht nur mit Trend- und Outdoor-gerecht aufgelegten Klassikern, sondern auch mit Neuheiten für alle Sitz- und Schlafgelegenheiten: traditionell und designorientiert, reduziert und kuschelig geht es im Januar in eine neue Möbelsaison.

Gezeigt werden auf der imm cologne 2018 über 100.000 Möbel und Einrichtungsgegenstände, davon etwa ein Drittel absolute Neuheiten. Die über 1.200 erwarteten Aussteller aus 50 Ländern zeigen nicht nur die aktuellen Farben und Formen, sondern spiegeln auch den Trend zu langlebigen Materialien wie Marmor oder die anhaltende Faszination der Menschen an Design-Klassikern wider. Und die imm cologne ist Teil dieser Geschichte. 1968 wurde der formal und zu diesem Zeitpunkt fertigungstechnisch revolutionäre Panton Chair auf der Einrichtungsmesse imm in Köln erstmals der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt. 50 Jahre nach der Erstpräsentation legt Vitra 2018 zwei limitierte Editionen des ikonischen Klassikers auf – wieder mit Premiere in Köln.

Panton Chrome und Glow: die Jubiläums-Editionen von Vitra auf der imm cologne 2018
Nach langen Jahren gemeinsamer Entwicklung brachten Verner Panton und Vitra 1967 den Panton Chair zur Produktionsreife – als ersten aus einem Stück geformten Vollkunststoff-Freischwinger der Geschichte. 1968 konnte der formal und fertigungstechnisch revolutionäre Stuhl auf der Möbelmesse imm in Köln erstmals der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt werden. 50 Jahre nach der Erstpräsentation legt Vitra 2018 zwei limitierte Editionen des ikonischen Klassikers auf: den Panton Chrome und den Panton Glow. Verspiegelte Oberflächen hatten Verner Panton schon immer fasziniert, und wie kaum ein anderer Designer hat er im Lauf seiner Karriere immer wieder mit verschiedenartigen Spiegeleffekten gearbeitet. Das ist an seinen Möbel- und Leuchten-Entwürfen ebenso ablesbar wie an vielen seiner expressiven Interieurs. Mit dem Panton Chrome geht nun ein alter Traum des Designers in Erfüllung. Bereits Anfang der 1970er Jahre lotete er die Möglichkeit aus, dem Panton Chair eine verspiegelte Oberfläche zu geben. Wegen seiner dynamisch geschwungenen Formen schien ihm der Stuhl dafür besonders prädestiniert, doch lag damals eine spiegelnde Beschichtung des Stuhls wegen ihrer Kratzempfindlichkeit weit außerhalb aller technischen Möglichkeiten. Heute, fast 50 Jahre später, steht ein sicheres, wenn auch aufwendiges Verfahren zur Verfügung, das hoch spezialisierte Handarbeit erfordert. Der brillante Spiegeleffekt des Panton Chrome entsteht durch eine Metallisierung, die in verschiedene Lackschichten eingebettet wird. Dieser komplexe Lackaufbau ist einerseits flexibel genug, um die leichten Verformungen des Stuhlkörpers eines Panton Classic bei Belastung mitzumachen und andererseits so robust, dass die empfindliche Oberfläche effektiv geschützt wird.

Auf die rohe Polyesterharzschale des Panton Classic werden in sorgfältiger Handarbeit fünf Schichten eines mit Nachleuchtpigmenten versehenen Lacks aufgetragen und abschließend mit einem hochglänzenden Schutzlack versiegelt. Die Leuchtpigmente laden sich am Tageslicht auf und geben bei Dunkelheit ein blaues Licht ab. Die fast geisterhafte Erscheinung eines in der Dunkelheit leuchtenden Panton Glow hat etwas Mystisches und lässt den bekannten Klassiker – wortwörtlich – in einem neuen Licht erscheinen. (Foto: Vitra, Bild 18/19)

01 COR – Moss
Sitzen? Liegen? Beides! Eine Art Diwan des 21. Jahrhunderts eben, der vor allem eines bieten soll: Sitzkomfort. Dafür sorgen außen große Kissen mit sanftem Knautscheffekt und innen eine Fülle an Materialien wie etwa Daunen und eine wattierte Ummantelung. Das Stuttgarter Design-Duo Jehs und Laub hat das Multitalent für Cor entworfen. (Foto: Cor)

02 ADA AUSTRIA premium – Tyler und Portland
Bei der Sitzgruppe Tyler und dem Dining-Programm Portland von Ada sollen die innovativen Airogel-Zellen in der Polsterung für ein Plus an Sitzkomfort sorgen. Sie passen sich den Körperkonturen an und ermöglichen so punktgenaue Druckentlastung. (Foto: ADA AUSTRIA premium)

03 Artek – 124° (Design: Daniel Rybakken)
124° – das ist der Winkel, in dem die Seitenflächen des wandmontierten, gleichnamigen Spiegels von Artek zueinander stehen. Mit ihrer strengen Form, dem ungewöhnlichen Spiegelungseffekt und fragmentarisch gebrochenem Licht setzen sie markante Punkte an die Wand. Grundlage hierzu ist eine umfangreiche Recherche des norwegischen Designers Daniel Rybakken zu natürlichem Licht und seiner Darstellung. (Foto: Zara Pfeifer; Artek)

04 Brdr. Krüger – Theodor
Theodor ist eine Neuinterpretation des "archetypischen dänischen Stuhls", der eine wichtige Rolle in der Bedeutung der dänischen Moderne gespielt hat und der klassische Werte mit einer neuen Perspektive vereinen will. Zur imm cologne wird der Stuhl von Brdr. Krüger in einer neuen geölten Eichenvariante mit einem Textilsitz gezeigt. (Foto: Brdr. Krüger)

05 Bretz – Filousof
Den Namen hat der Polstermöbelhersteller Bretz sicher nicht zufällig gewählt: ein wenig frech, vor allem aber freigeistig soll sich das Sofa Filousof zeigen. Jedes Kissen im Rücken, Sitz- und Armlehnen und der Korpus können in einem anderen Bezug, einer anderen Farbe oder einem anderen Muster bezogen werden. Im Raster von 25 cm lassen sich außerdem beliebig erweiterbare Sofas und Sofalandschaften erstellen. (Foto: Bretz)

06 Gwinner – Laredo
Ein starker Fokus auf Holz, markante Oberflächen mit Ästen oder Rissen und eine klare Linienführung – das sind die optischen Eigenschaften des Wohnprogramms Laredo von Gwinner. Die neue Holzart Balkeneiche geräuchert mit ihrer etwas strengen Anmutung ist auf das geradlinige Design abgestimmt. Ebenfalls neu im Programm: die Farbe Lack mocca seidenmatt, ein vergleichsweise dunkler Braunton. (Foto: Gwinner)

07 Jan Kath – Polonaise
Die Order war einfach: „Macht mir die schönsten Teppiche der Welt“, forderte Schah Abbas seine Knüpfer in den Hofwerkstätten in Isfahan auf. Die Ergebnisse waren so faszinierend, dass sie Jan Kath rund 400 Jahre später als Vorlage für seine neue Kollektion Polonaise gewählt hat: schillernde Zauberwälder aus Lotusblüten, verschlungene Arabesken und Palmetten. (Foto: Jan Kath)

08 Ligne Roset – Imprevue
Einzelsofa, Eckgruppe oder sogar Bett? Das Sofaprogramm Imprevue von der Designerin Marie Christine Dorner ermöglicht zahlreiche Kombination und bietet viele Einsatzmöglichkeiten. So lässt sich die Sofalandschaft durch Abnehmen der Seiten- und Rückenteile ruck-zuck in ein Bett verwandeln. (Foto: Ligne Roset)

09 Moll – Champion
Bei Kindern können die Lieblingsfarben schnell wechseln. Daher liegt jedem Tisch Champion von Moll eine Box bei, die acht Schmuckfarben für die Fußkufen und Abdeckkappen bereithält. Die Farben lassen sich schnell austauschen und bis zum nächsten Farbwechsel gut in der Box verwahren. (Foto: Moll)

10 Schönbuch – Grace (Sebastian Herkner)
Mit seiner minimalistischen Form eignet sich Schönbuchs Neuinterpretation des Servierwagens (Design: Sebastian Herkner) auch als mobile Bar, als Beistelltisch oder als Ablage im Homeoffice. Das Design ist der Architektur der 50er-Jahre nachempfunden. Grace gibt es in Schwarz, Nachtblau oder Rosenholz. Die obere Ablage aus Glas ist jeweils farblich passend rückseitig lackiert. (Foto: Schönbuch)

11 Schramm – Ono (Design Sebastian Herkner)
Das Lesen, Arbeiten oder Frühstücken im Bett wollte Sebastian Herkner so bequem wie möglich gestalten. Gemütlich gepolsterte Kissen laden im Bett Ono von Schramm Werkstätten zum Ausruhen ein. Für den vielbeschäftigten und vielreisenden Designer sind solche Komfortzonen von hoher Bedeutung. (Foto: Schramm Werkstätten)

12 Tom Taylor – Heaven Casual
Zur imm cologne erwartet die Besucher bei ADA ein komplettes Appartement mit zwei Schlafzimmern, einem Wohn- und Essbereich, einem Gäste- und Arbeitszimmer sowie einem Bad – stimmig eingerichtet im lässigen Stil (Heaven Casual) der Marke Tom Taylor. (Foto: ADA)

13 Indera – Hug
Mit Hug stellt der belgische Möbelanbieter Indera ein modulares Sofa mit einer Vielzahl an Kombinationsmöglichkeiten vor. Die Serie umfasst neben verschiedenen Rücken- und Armelementen und Sitzmodulen in verschiedenen Abmessungen auch praktischen Tische und Aufbewahrungselemente, sodass man sich seine Relax-Zone individuell gestalten kann. Die sanfte, durchgesteppte Polsterung sieht aus wie ein warmes Deckbett – ein gemütlicher Kokon, in dem man sich köstlich entspannen kann nach einem aktiven Tag. (Foto: Indera)

14 Conte Caserta – Mammuttisch aus einem Blatt
420 x 150 x 8 cm – das sind die Maße des Tischblattes, das aus einem einzigen Stück Akazienholz geschaffen wurde. Zum ersten Mal zu sehen ist dieser Mammuttisch am Stand A001 der Tischmanufaktur Conte Caserta in Halle 11.1 auf der Einrichtungsmesse imm cologne 2018 in Köln. Conte Caserta fertigt aus goldbraunem Akazienholz individuelle Tischblätter aus Massivholz, die aus der Mitte des Stammes geschnitten und im Ganzen verarbeitet werden. Die Maserung erstreckt sich wie ein Gemälde über das gesamte Tischblatt. (Foto: Conte Caserta)

15 Draenert – Marble Wings
Eine Chaiselongue, gefertigt aus einem massiven Natursteinblock Carrara Marmor, limitiert auf 15 Stück, nummeriert und datiert mit Zertifikat – das Kunstmöbel Marble Wings, herausgegeben in limitierter Edition. Auf der imm cologne 2018 feiert die Draenert Manufaktur ihr 50-Jähriges Jubiläum, und aus diesem Anlass hat der Architekt und Designer Hadi Teherani die Kulturgeschichte des Marmors in modernes Design übersetzt. (Foto: Draenert)

16 Hey-Sign – Stripe & Fields
Die neuen Teppiche STRIPE 2 und 4 sowie FIELD erweitern die Hey-Sign Teppichserie Carée, die 2017 zur imm cologne eingeführt wurde. Bei dem zweifarbigen Teppich STRIPE 2 werden vierzig Zentimeter hohe Filzstreifen im farblichen Wechsel aneinandergenäht, wodurch sich eine dekorative Wirkung ergibt. Die sichtbaren Nähte sind designgebend und betonen den handwerklichen Charakter. (Foto: HEY-SIGN/Reimund Braun)

17 Sideboard K 16 – müller möbelfabrikation
Ob mit zwei oder drei Türen, schwebend an der Wand oder auf Kufen aus Aluminium oder in lackierter Variante: Das Sideboard K 16 konnte schon immer durch Design plus Flexibilität überzeugen. Doch die neueste Option ist beides in einem! Die effektvolle Metallstruktur der Schiebetüren zieht garantiert alle Blicke auf sich und kann gar nicht anders als zum Highlight werden. Perfekt für Räume voller Extravaganz! (Foto: müller möbelfabrikation)